Pennsylvania Opiate Laws

The Top 10 Things NOT To Do If You're Arrested

If you’ve been charged with possession, selling (PWI) or trafficking of Heroin, the stakes are high. Even the most minor drug possession conviction can result in heavy fines, jail time, and a permanent criminal record. In light of the current Opioid epidemic in Pennsylvania, Police are on high alert for heroin and are increasing enforcement and cracking down. Likewise, judges are looking to send a message that heroin dealers will be punished severely.

The government will likely try to make it look like you are a big time Kingpin. A lot of times they use the testimony of unreliable snitches who will say anything about you to save their own skin. One of our strategies is working to get the evidence suppressed by examining whether the police followed the proper procedures during their investigation. We know how to fight these cases and will work hard to protect your rights.

We can help

The skilled attorneys of The McShane Firm have the aggressive courtroom skills you need to help reduce or dismiss your charges. With our advanced scientific training, we can defend you against all drug charges, including:

  • Opiate Possession
  • Opiate Sale or Distribution
  • Variants of Opiates including Heroin

Contact us today for your free, no obligation consultation. We’ll discuss your legal options and help you fight for your rights and your freedom.

Pennsylvania Opiate Penalties

In the State of Pennsylvania, it is illegal to possess or distribute controlled substances such as marijuana, heroin, methamphetamines, and other drugs. It is also illegal to cultivate illegal substances and possess or distribute drug-related paraphernalia.

The heavy fines, possible jail time, and permanent criminal record that come with a drug possession conviction can complicate your life for years to come. That’s why it’s important to have an aggressive defense attorney by your side in court. At The McShane Firm, all of our attorneys have the same highly-specialized drug training as the police officer who charged you – and we’re ready to use that training in court to fight for your rights.

Sentencing for Drug Possession convictions vary greatly depending on the type of drug and how much was found in your possession. Below is an overview of the current typical penalties for opiate charges in PA.

Opiate Penalties Overview

Charge:
Possession with Intent to Deliver
Grade:
Felony
Maximum Prison:
Fifteen Years
Maximum Fine:
$250,000
Charge:
Simple Possession – First Offense
Grade:
Misdemeanor
Maximum Prison:
One Year
Maximum Fine:
$5,000
Charge:
Simple Possession – Second or Subsequent Offense
Grade:
Misdemeanor
Maximum Prison:
Three Years
Maximum Fine:
$25,000
*Prior convictions, amount of heroin possessed or sale to a minor can incur more severe penalties

Know Your Rights

As you can see, even the most minor opiate charge can put your future in jeopardy. But remember: being accused of a crime is not the same as being convicted. You have options. You can get The Science Attorneys on your side. You can get The McShane Firm.