Pennsylvania Controlled Substance Laws

The Top 10 Things NOT To Do If You're Arrested

If you’ve been charged with possession, selling (PWI) or trafficking of a controlled substance, the stakes are high. Even the most minor drug possession conviction can result in heavy fines, jail time, and a permanent criminal record.

Possession of a controlled substance, from schedule V medications that are not prescribed to you, up to schedule I illegal drugs, is a crime. If you are caught with controlled substance in your possession, the government will try to make it look like to you are a drug dealer, selling drugs for profit, to the unwary citizens of Pennsylvania. The government will try to make you look the kingpin, using whatever tactics necessary to secure a conviction for the most serious charge they can. The government will often use surreptitious methods in securing evidence such as confidential informants and jail house snitches who will say and do anything to save their own skin. At The McShane Firm, we have experience with all these government tactics. We know how to fight these cases and will work hard to protect your rights.

We can help

The skilled attorneys of The McShane Firm have the aggressive courtroom skills you need to help reduce or dismiss your charges. With our advanced scientific training, we can defend you against all drug charges, including:

  • Controlled Substance Possession
  • Controlled Substance Sale or Distribution
  • Drug Paraphernalia like such as baggies and scales

Contact us today for your free, no obligation consultation. We’ll discuss your legal options and help you fight for your rights and your freedom.

Pennsylvania Controlled Substance Penalties

In the State of Pennsylvania, it is illegal to possess or distribute controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine, methamphetamines, and other drugs. It is also illegal to cultivate illegal substances and possess or distribute drug-related paraphernalia.

The heavy fines, possible jail time, and permanent criminal record that come with a drug possession conviction can complicate your life for years to come. That’s why it’s important to have an aggressive defense attorney by your side in court. At The McShane Firm, all of our attorneys have the same highly-specialized drug training as the police officer who charged you – and we’re ready to use that training in court to fight for your rights.

Sentencing for Drug Possession convictions vary greatly depending on the type of drug and how much was found in your possession. Below is an overview of the current typical penalties for controlled substances in Pennsylvania.

Controlled Substance Penalties Overview

Charge:
Possession with Intent to Deliver – Schedule I or II narcotics
Grade:
Felony
Maximum Prison:
Fifteen Years
Maximum Fine:
$250,000
Charge:
Possession with Intent to Deliver – Phencyclidine, methamphetamine, coca leaves (including salts and isomers)
Grade:
Felony
Maximum Prison:
Ten Years
Maximum Fine:
$100,000
Charge:
Possession with Intent to Deliver – Schedule I, II, or III (non-narcotics)
Grade:
Felony
Maximum Prison:
Five Years
Maximum Fine:
$15,000
Charge:
Possession with Intent to Deliver – Schedule IV
Grade:
Felony
Maximum Prison:
Three Years
Maximum Fine:
$10,000
Charge:
Possession with Intent to Deliver – Schedule V
Grade:
Misdemeanor
Maximum Prison:
One Year
Maximum Fine:
$5,000
Charge:
Simple Possession – First Offense
Grade:
Misdemeanor
Maximum Prison:
Five Years
Maximum Fine:
$15,000
Charge:
Simple Possession – Second or Subsequent Offense
Grade:
Misdemeanor
Maximum Prison:
Three Years
Maximum Fine:
$25,000
*Prior convictions, amount possessed or sale to a minor can incur more severe penalties

Know Your Rights

As you can see, even the most minor cocaine charge can put your future in jeopardy. But remember: being accused of a crime is not the same as being convicted. You have options. You can get The Science Attorneys on your side. You can get The McShane Firm.