If you’ve been charged with theft in Pennsylvania, the stakes are high. Depending on the method of theft and the value of items taken, you could be facing heavy fines, jail time, and a permanent criminal record.
Contact a skilled PA theft lawyer now. Time is of the essence.
Pennsylvania Theft Penalties
The State of Pennsylvania defines theft as the unlawful seizure or depravation of moveable property; or transfer or exercise of control of immoveable property with intent to benefit one’s self. The method of theft can fall under a number of categories:
- Receiving Stolen Property
- Property Lost, Mislaid, or Delivered by Mistake
- Theft from a Motor Vehicle
- Bad Checks
The punishments for theft in PA vary depending on the method and value of the property taken. Even the most minor charges can result in jail time, so it is important to have an aggressive defense attorney at your side in court. At The McShane Firm, we are skilled litigators with a long history of getting charges reduced or dropped for clients like yourself.
Here is a summary of theft penalties in PA:
Charge: Misdemeanor 3
Maximum Penalty: 1 year in prison (or summary offense)
Charge: Misdemeanor 2
Maximum Penalty: 3 years in prison
Charge: Misdemeanor 1
Maximum Penalty: 5 years in prison
Charge: Felony 3
Maximum Penalty: 7 years in prison
- Any theft charge involving a firearm is automatically charged at the Felony level.
- Any theft of a automobile or other vehicle is also automatically charged at the Felony level.
- Retail Theft charges involve enhanced penalties based on prior offenses and monetary value.
- Bad Check penalties vary based on monetary value.
As you can see, when facing a theft charge in PA, the stakes are high. A theft conviction can rob you of your freedom for years to come. But we can help. Contact The McShane Firm today for your free, no-obligation consultation. We’ll discuss your legal options and help you fight for your rights and your freedom.