Pennsylvania Drug Possession Laws

If you’ve been charged with possession of marijuana, other controlled substances, or drug paraphernalia, the stakes are high. Even the most minor drug possession conviction can result in heavy fines, jail time, and a permanent criminal record.

We can help.

The skilled attorneys of The McShane Firm have the aggressive courtroom skills you need to help reduce or dismiss your charges. With our advanced DRE training, we can defend you against all drug charges, including:

  • Marijuana Possession
  • Marijuana Sale or Distribution
  • Marijuana Cultivation
  • Drug Paraphernalia

Contact us today for your free, no obligation consultation. We’ll discuss your legal options and help you fight for your rights and your freedom.

Pennsylvania Drug Possession Penalties

In the State of Pennsylvania, it is illegal to possess or distribute controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine, methamphetamines, and other drugs. It is also illegal to cultivate illegal substances and possess or distribute drug-related paraphernalia.

The heavy fines, possible jail time, and permanent criminal record that come with a drug possession conviction can complicate your life for years to come. That’s why it’s important to have an aggressive defense attorney by your side in court. At The McShane Firm, all of our attorneys have the same highly-specialized drug training as the police officer who charged you – and we’re ready to use that training in court to fight for your rights.

Sentencing for Drug Possession convictions vary greatly depending on the type of drug and how much was found in your possession. Penalties may range from minor probation and fines to long periods in jail depending on the type of drug, the amount found, and the State’s classification. And the laws in PA are changing all the time. Below is an overview of the current typical penalties for marijuana in PA.

Marijuana Penalties Overview

Type: Possession
Amount: Under 30g
Maximum Charge: Misdemeanor
Maximum Penalty: 30 days in prison and/or $500 fine
Type: Possession
Amount: Over 30g
Maximum Charge: Misdemeanor
Maximum Penalty: 1 year in prison and/or $5,000 fine
Type: Sale or Distribution
Amount: Under 30g
Maximum Charge: Misdemeanor
Maximum Penalty: 30 days in prison and/or $500 fine
Type: Sale or Distribution
Amount: 2-10lbs.
Maximum Charge: Felony
Maximum Penalty: 1 year in prison and/or $5,000 fine

*Prior convictions or sale to a minor can incur double penalties

The McShane Firm, LLC - Law OfficesAs you can see, even the most minor drug possession charge can put your future in jeopardy. But remember: being accused of a crime is not the same as being convicted. You have options. Contact us today for your free initial consultation. We’ll discuss your legal options and help you fight for you rights and your freedom.