Pennsylvania Assault Laws

If you’ve been accused of assault in Pennsylvania, time is of the essence. Even the most minor assault conviction can result in jail time, and a conviction will complicate your life for years to come. Educate yourself on the penalties for assault in PA and contact our experienced assault lawyers today.

The State of Pennsylvania defines assault as an attempt to intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly cause bodily injury to another, negligently causing bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon, or physically menacing or putting fear of bodily injury in another person.

Assault can be classified in a number of categories, including:

  • Assault and Battery
  • Assault of a Minor
  • Vehicular Assault
  • Assault with a Weapon
  • Felony Assault
  • Threats

Even the most minor assault charges can result in jail time, so it’s important to have an aggressive defense attorney by your side in court. At The McShane Firm, we are skilled litigators with highly-specialized criminal defense training to help you protect your rights.

Pennsylvania Assault Penalties

The punishments for assault in PA vary depending on the severity and method of assault. Most assault cases break down into two categories: Simple Assault and Aggravated Assault.

Simple Assault

A Simple Assault charge usually involves minor or no injuries, but can be applied for simply holding a weapon or threatening someone with harm. See the chart below for the penalties for Simple Assault.

Type: Simple Assault (general)
Maximum Charge: Misdemeanor 2
Maximum Penalty: 2 years in prison
Type: Simple Assault with mutual consent (fighting)
Maximum Charge: Misdemeanor 3
Maximum Penalty: 1 year in prison
Type: Simple Assault against a minor (under 12)
Maximum Charge: Misdemeanor 1
Maximum Penalty: 5 years in prison

Aggravated Assault

Aggravated Assault (also known as Felony Assault) is considered a violent crime and usually involves serious bodily injury. Aggravated Assault charges may apply if you acted “with extreme indifference to human life” or assaulted a police officer. See the chart below for the penalties for Aggravated Assault.

Type: Aggravated Assault (general)
Maximum Charge: Felony 2
Maximum Penalty: 10 years in prison
Type: Aggravated Assault (with a deadly weapon)
Maximum Charge: Felony 2
Maximum Penalty: 10 years in prison
Type: Aggravated Assault (with extreme indifference or against a public officer)
Maximum Charge: Felony 1
Maximum Penalty: 20 years in prison

The McShane Firm, LLC - Law OfficesAs you can see, the penalties for assault in Pennsylvania can be very severe. Don’t let an assault conviction rob you of your freedom for years to come. Contact the experienced assault attorneys of The McShane Firm for your free, no obligation consultation. We’ll discuss your legal options and help you fight for your rights and your freedom.